You are here

Holden Museum

Location: 
4928 - 50 Ave (east of Main Street Cenotaph)
Hours of Operation: 

The Museum is open from May 23, 2015 to September 6, 2015.

Regular summer hours are: Friday, Saturday, and Sunday from 12:00 noon to 4:00 pm.

Extra hours may be added for special local events, such as Farmer's Day.

Open by appointment anytime, including off-season.

Contact Information: 
  • Dave Maruszeczka, President
  • Phone: (780) 688-3593
  • Email: holdenmuseum@gmail.com
  • Mailing Address: Box 32, Holden AB T0B 2C0
Description: 

WELCOME

Holden Historical Society Museum welcomes visitors to share the history of Holden and area. In 1991 the Holden Museum was established on the main floor of the current building. Visitors will experience a pioneer kitchen, an outdoor Piche oven, general store, church, schoolroom, barbershop and a parlour full of beautiful handcrafted items.

Celebrate birthdays, family reunions, or bring visitors for a private visit at the Museum. To book a time, call 780-688-3593 and leave a message, or email holdenmuseum@gmail.com

No admission - donations help to maintain and improve the Museum. Free wireless internet available.

ABOUT THE MUSEUM

The building itself has an interesting and varied past. It was built in 1911 and was originally used as the town hall, the fire hall, and it has a jail cell on the main floor. The old hand-operated fire hose cart is displayed on the Museum grounds.

The upper floor was used as a community and dance hall and later as a silent movie theatre. The building was given to the Masons in 1935 and the Masonic Lodge room, upstairs, is still used today. Tours of the Lodge, large outdoor artifacts, and workshop are available on request.

Children will enjoy some of the hands-on displays and having their photo taken in a real jail. Students and Researchers are welcome to research information for their projects.

SOMETHING SPECIAL

Visit the miniature model of 1909 Holden, which depicts the community as it actually was in 1909 - 1911.

The miniature Village was built in 2009 to celebrate Holden's Centennial. Two dedicated volunteers brought this vision into reality. Initially it took them well over 4,000 hours to build, with many more hours spent on recent additions such as a Grist Mill, Steam Engine complete with decals and fittings, and a Case Steam Tractor consisting of 100 parts.

Every building in the model is historically correct in detail, using information found in photos, newspapers and other research. Enjoy a trip to the rail yards, passenger train station and elevator as they were in the 'olden days'.

Visitors can look straight down Main Street and get a feeling of what early Holden was like. Imagine walking down the boardwalks, look into some of the business windows at merchandise, and see people going about their daily lives.

Don't miss this truly unique experience. A visit to the miniature village will enhance your appreciation and understanding of artifacts displayed throughout the museum.

Holden Museum holds Recognized Museum status and is a Member of  Alberta Museums Association and Central Rural East Alberta Museums